What I Eat Now, Post-Cancer

Before I got cancer I ate whatever I wanted, which was a lot of processed and cooked food.
Micah and I both worked a lot and didn’t prepare fresh meals often.  I ate bacon, eggs and toaster waffles for breakfast; and Super Sized
fast food for lunch, which was usually a double cheeseburger, fries and a coke.  Dinner was either microwaved, or something like grilled chicken breast, or bacon wrapped filets with a cooked vegetable side.

I drank soft drinks, and ate candy bars, chips; basically whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted.  I have a high metabolism and don’t gain weight, so I assumed I had a free pass.  Little did I know, my body was starving for nutrients.  And for what it’s worth, I didn’t smoke cigarettes and drank very little alcohol, maybe a few glasses of wine or a few beers a couple times a month.

A lot of folks are asking me what I eat now, so what I think I’ll do here is a basic overview of the food I eat the most, and expound on this stuff more in individual posts. (This is the part where I tell you to click that subscribe button over on the right!)

I am not a vegetarian or a vegan, but the majority of my meals are.

I eat a lot of Raw Organic fruits and vegetables, seeds, and nuts.

Giant Salads are the easiest way for me to eat a lot of vegetables every day.

I make Smoothies with coconut milk, frozen berries, and a banana.

I also drink fresh Carrot Juice that we make in our kitchen with our Champion Juicer.

I eat a lot of Organic Brown Rice, Quinoa, and Sweet Potatoes, usually with dinner.

I eat Organic Sprouted Grain Breads like Ezekiel 4:9 Bread and Manna Bread.

Most breads are made with refined flour and are fast-burning carbs that turn to sugar in your bloodstream, spiking your insulin.  Sprouted Grain breads are slow burning carbs (low-glycemic) and the healthiest bread you can eat.

The recipe for Ezekiel 4:9 Bread came straight out of the Old Testament.  It’s a combination of six sprouted grains and legumes that form a complete protein with 18 amino acids.  It comes in a standard sandwich-style loaf of bread.  It doesn’t taste like regular bread and it’s more hearty and whole-grainey (if that’s a word). The original and cinnamon raisin are both great.  Ezekiel also makes other good stuff like a grape-nuts style cereal, sprouted english muffins, and tortillas.

Manna Bread is a cake-like sprouted bread with no yeast, salt, oil, or sweeteners.  It comes in a small dense loaf and is heated at low temperatures.  It’s not exactly raw, but it’s close.  It’s not sandwich bread, it’s more like a specialty bread you’d have with a meal.  We really love the Fruit and Nut, Carrot Raisin, and Cinnamon Date.  Cut a thick slice then warm it up in the toaster oven with a pat of butter…………I’m drooling on the freaking keyboard right now!

You’re gonna find those kinds of healthy breads in the frozen food section of Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s and even some traditional groceries.  They need to be frozen because they don’t have a bunch of chemical preservatives in them. Key words to look for: Sprouted Grain Breads

Raw Organic Almond Butter destroys peanut butter healthwise.
It tastes amazing and is super healthy.  In case you’re wondering, peanut butter is not very healthy, and no one else in the world eats it but Americans.
It costs more than PB, but it is so worth it.

I love to make Almond Butter and Honey Sandwiches with Ezekiel Bread.
I put cinnamon on it and sometimes throw in a banana, as a tribute to The King.

I drink copious amounts of Rice Dream (rice milk).  I am addicted to it.  I love it.

When I can get it, I drink raw organic cow or goats milk that has not been pasteurized or homogenized.  Those two processes destroy the nutritional value of milk and turn it into something weird and unhealthy.  Trust me on this.

You have to buy raw milk from local farmers on the “gray market”, as it is illegal to sell raw milk for human consumption in some states, like Tennessee.  Don’t get freaked out.  People all over the world drink raw milk every day.  More and more people are becoming aware of the health benefits of raw milk thanks to the research of Weston Price.
I call it “White Lightnin”.   You’ll understand after you drink some.

I also eat Raw Cheese.  Organic Valley makes a delicious Organic Raw Mild Cheddar Cheese that we buy all the time.  Ask for it at your local grocery, they may have it.

Want to know more about raw milk?  Read this post.

I eat clean meat sparingly.  Clean meat is free-range organic or wild caught. i.e. free-range chicken, organic cage-free eggs, grass-fed beef, wild game, and wild-caught fish from clean waters.  No farm-raised or gulf of mexico fish for me.

I don’t eat animal protein every day.  A few times per week tops, and some weeks none at all. Whole Foods carries some clean meat, but local farmers are cheaper.  My rule is I only eat meat if I know where it comes from, which means I hardly ever eat meat in restaurants with the exception of some wild caught fish and sushi.

I don’t eat the meat of scavengers which basically means pork, catfish, shrimp, oysters, lobster, etc.
Scavengers are bottom feeders
.  Their role in nature is to eat the stuff no other animal will eat; disgusting stuff like other dead animals.  These are not healthy meats.  I used to eat bacon and bbq sandwiches several times a week before cancer.
“No mo, No mo” -Phil Collins

The book that fully explains the way I eat is called The Maker’s Diet.  Highly Recommended.  It’s one of the few books that I would give away to everyone I know if I could afford to.

In preparation for this post, I snapped pics of my last three meals:

Here’s a Veggie Sandwich Micah made me for lunch yesterday:  Toasted Ezekiel Bread with raw mild cheddar cheese, sliced cucumber, sliced avocado, sliced red bell pepper, lettuce, a little bit of Newman’s Own Ranch dressing on one side and spicy mustard on the other, and topped with Four Cancer Fighting Spices: Garlic, Oregano, Cayenne, and Curry Powder.  Absolutely Fabulous!


This is what Micah made for dinner last night:

Chickpea Salad with Brown Rice

Two 15 oz cans of garbanzo beans.  6 roma tomatoes, sliced.  4 oz. crumbled feta cheese.  1/4 cup fresh mint leaves.  1/3 cup apple cider or wine vinegar.  1/4 cup olive oil. Mix it up in a bowl and serve over brown rice or grilled pita wedges. Delish and so simple!


Here’s what I ate for dinner tonight before finishing this post:  All the credit goes to Micah again.  I love you baby.

Quinoa and Black-Eyed Pea Croquettes with lightly sautéed zucchini strips and a baked sweet potato with butter and cinnamon.  They were awesome.  Get the recipe HERE.

(((c)))

Subscribe to my blog to receive instant email notification of new posts!

Comments
16 Responses to “What I Eat Now, Post-Cancer”
  1. Dea says:

    HI Chris,
    thank you for following me on Tumblr, I am so happy for you that you cured yourself of canser w/out Chemo, I follow a healthy lifestyle too, I am mostly raw mostly vegan and I eat some local organic farm raised cage free eggs and some local raw cheeses. I discovered raw foods in 2007 and I have resolved many health problems as a result, depression, allergies, anxiety. I am also slowly curing obesity through raw foods. I think by sharing your results, diet, recipes you are doing a lot of good, stay blessed :) Dea

    • Thank you so much for sharing your story Dea!
      It’s really encouraging to find more people like you that are doing what I’m doing.
      That’s so great to hear. The world really needs to know this stuff. Looking forward to your posts.
      Let’s keep it up! :)
      (((c)))

  2. Heather Bomar says:

    You know my husband Kris :) He got me hooked to your blog. We have not had to deal with Cancer but would like to prevent that battle in the future. We have 3 daughters and I was wondering if your children eat the same diet as you?
    One of our daughters has a metabolic genetic disorder called PKU. She has a very limited diet where she eats LOTS of fruit and Veggies so we have tried to be good examples of health and would like to keep moving stronger in that direction.
    THANKS

    • Hi Heather! As you know, kids are picky. We try to feed them all kinds of good stuff. Ours like fruit, but don’t really like many vegetables except for carrots and green beans.
      We shop at whole foods and do our best to buy healthy organic versions of stuff they like, like mac n cheese, cheese pizza, real fruit popsicles, etc. They eat clean meat when we buy it. We specifically ask the grandparents not to take them to McDonalds, but they do go to Chick-fil-a sometimes. I think the best thing you can do with kids is buy as much organic as possible and limit the junk food, fast food, and candy to special occasions.
      You may be able to get them to drink some fresh carrot apple juice, if you have a juicer.
      Also there’s a book called Deceptively Delicious that has recipes that allow you to sneak good stuff into your kids food without them knowing.
      Tell Kris I said Hello!
      :)

  3. Ann Farris says:

    what’s wrong with peanut butter?

    • Hi Ann! Thanks for the question!
      Peanuts are very high in omega-6 fats. They also can contain a carcinogenic mold called aflatoxin.
      And peanuts are one of the most pesticide-contaminated crops, which is why organic is definitely best.
      For what it’s worth, my kids are picky eaters and prefer the taste of peanut butter to almond butter, so we still buy it.
      :)

  4. Hanna Riggs says:

    Chris,

    I love what you are doing! Your testimony is amazing and I am a firm believer that foods can help heal and strengthen your body if you eat the right ones. I am looking forward to spending more time on your website and becoming a subscriber. Great job! Hope Micah and the girls are doing good.
    Hanna Riggs

  5. Tawnee Cowan says:

    Hi Chris! I am so thankful you have such a commitment to teaching what you have learned. I too have been on a total juice fast and got into remission that way and it lasted 4 years. Now I have an added complication of a spine injury that makes it difficult to do raw as my spleen does not function properly. I wanted to add here to anyone that might be following your path, a different approach to the same diet. If ever someone notices that their stomach is not handling the juicing process of if you have a spleen problem, then you can follow all of what is in the books, but just blanch your veggies first in some boiling water. To blanch, just get the water boiling, and get a holed ladle, drop the chopped veggies in the boiling water, then scoop them out, let them cool, then put them through the juicer. There is a little lessening of the values but not much at all as it is a very quick aging process. The process of cooking the vegetables ages the vegetable and as things age, they lose nutrients, which is why raw is the preferred method.

    I took culinary courses so I am going to bookmark this and when I can type a little more I will share some more recipes. I have challenges is all. God Bless you Chris and Micah.. it is so refreshing to meet fellow survivors following the same path of treatment.

    T

    • Hi Tawnee Thanks so much for your contribution! I really appreciate it. Very Valuable. There’s no magic bullet. What works for some may not work for others, which is why you have to try everything you can. :)

  6. Marisa says:

    Everything looks so good!! Especially the veggie sandwich. Going to Whole Foods to get some raw cheddar cheese today! I just started looking into raw goats products (read Patient Heal Thyself and just started reading The Maker’s Diet) Very interesting information. Love your blog!!

  7. Devon says:

    This is awesome Chris. Thank you for sharing this and I will definitely be passing it on to others!

  8. Lib says:

    YUMMY! I am clicking the link to those croquets…great post!
    *blessings*

Leave a Reply

